To vote you must be:
Click a link above or scroll down for details about eligibility.
Only citizens of the United States are eligible to vote in elections in Minnesota.
You need to be at least 18 years old on Election Day to vote in Minnesota.
However, you can pre-register earlier if you are 16 or 17 years old. If you do pre-register, election officials will process your application so it will automatically register you on your 18th birthday.
As long as you turn 18 on or before Election Day, you are eligible to vote in that election. That includes voting early or by absentee ballot.
You must be a Minnesota resident for 20 days to be eligible to vote in Minnesota. Note that you can be temporarily away from your residence.
What is my residence has more details about this topic, and how it applies for college students, those living in nursing homes and residential facilities, or people without a home.
Your criminal record does not affect your right to vote in Minnesota unless you are currently incarcerated for a felony conviction.
This means you can vote if:
You cannot vote if:
Download the Voting with a Criminal Record factsheet
As long as a judge did not restrict your right to vote through court order, you have the right to vote when:
No one else can make this decision on your behalf, including a spouse, children, attorneys, caregivers, doctors or nurses.