Minnesota Secretary Of State - Ballot drop box locations
Skip to main content

Ballot drop box locations

Minnesota voters have different ways they may return their voted absentee ballot before election day:

  • by mail using the supplied stamped envelope
  • dropped off at the elections office that sent the ballot during business hours
  • deposited anytime in a secure drop box

On election day, absentee ballots may be returned no later than 3 p.m. to the elections office or secure drop box. Ballots for cities and towns that vote by mail may be returned to the county elections office or secure drop box no later than 8 p.m.

The information below is about secure ballot drop box locations.

County auditors or municipal clerks may provide secure drop boxes for the return of absentee ballots as long as they meet the requirements of MS 203B.082. Any locations must be shared with this office before every regularly scheduled election. All drop box locations shared with this office are listed below. Last updated on October 7, 2022.

Voters may only return ballots to a drop box operated by the county or city they live in. Locations below are ordered by county, then city. If you do not see your county or city listed below, return your absentee ballot to the elections office that sent the ballot.

Chisago County – all residents

  • Chisago County Government Center, 313 North Main Street, Center City, MN 55012

Clay County – all residents

  • Clay County Government Center, 3510 12th Ave S​, Moorhead, MN 56560

Cook County – all residents

  • Cook County Courthouse, 411 West 2nd Street​, Grand Marais, MN 55604

Cottonwood County – all residents

  • Cottonwood County Courthouse, 900 3rd Avenue, Windom, MN 56101

Dakota County – City of Burnsville residents

  • Burnsville City Hall, 100 Civic Center Pkwy, Burnsville, MN 55337

Dakota County – City of Mendota Heights residents

  • Mendota Heights City Hall, 1101 Victoria Curve, Mendota Heights, MN 55118

Hennepin County – City of Rogers residents

  • Rogers City Hall, 22350 South Diamond Lake Road, Rogers, MN 55374

Hennepin County – City of St. Louis Park residents

  • St. Louis Park City Hall, 5005 Minnetonka Blvd, St. Louis Park, MN 55416

Lake County – all residents

  • Law Enforcement Center, 613 3rd Ave., Two Harbors, MN 55616

Norman County – all residents

  • 16 East Third Ave, Ada, MN 56510
  • 15 Second Ave East, Ada, MN 56510

Polk County – all residents

  • 612 N. Broadway, Crookston, MN 56716

Stearns County – all residents

  • Stearns County Service Center, 3301 County Road 138, Waite Park, MN 56387

Wright County – City of Otsego residents

  • Otsego City Hall, 13400 90th St, Otsego MN 55330

Wright County – City of Howard Lake residents

  • Howard Lake City Hall, 625 8th Avenue, Howard Lake, MN 55349