Minnesota Secretary Of State - State Canvassing Board Certifies Results of the 2022 General Election
Skip to main content

News Room Archive

News Room

State Canvassing Board Certifies Results of the 2022 General Election

November 30, 2022

Official results show 2,525,873 Minnesotans voted on November 8, Recounts requested in House District 3A and 3B contests

SAINT PAUL - On November 29, Secretary of State Steve Simon convened the State Canvassing Board to review the canvass report for the 2022 General Election and certify the results. In addition to judicial and state legislative offices, the board certified the election results of Minnesota’s constitutional officers and election results for eight U.S. House of Representative contests.

“Minnesotans have once again proven their commitment to our democracy," said Secretary Simon. “From casting their ballots to serving as election officials, millions of Minnesotans of all political persuasions have demonstrated their faith in our election system.”

In the 2022 General Election, 2,525,873 Minnesotans cast ballots, which is 61% of the population. This is a decrease from the record-high midterm voter turnout of 64.3% achieved in 2018, but ahead of the 20-year average for midterm voter turnout, which is 59.5%.

A total of 672,571 voters cast an absentee or mail-in ballot, which is 26.6% of the total votes cast. This is an increase from 24.5% of votes cast by absentee or mail-in ballot in the 2018 General Election.


In addition to certifying election results, the canvassing board approved contingency plans for recounts. Contests in House Districts 3A and 3B fell within the limits for a publicly funded recount. Candidates have filed for recounts in these contests. Starting on Monday, December 5, election officials will conduct recounts in those races in Cook, Itasca, Koochiching, Lake, and St. Louis counties.

Aside from publicly funding recounts, any losing candidate can request a discretionary recount that would be conducted at their expense.

Political Party Designations

The certified election results confirm upcoming changes to the status of two political parties.

As of December 31, 2022, the Grassroots – Legalize Cannabis Party will no longer be recognized as a Major Political Party, as it did not have a statewide candidate meet the 5% vote requirement for Major Political Party Status in 2022 or 2020. However, the Grassroots – Legalize Cannabis Party did have a candidate for State Auditor that received more than 1% of the vote in 2022. As a result, the party can receive Minor Political Party status if certification is filed by the end of the year.

The Independence-Alliance Party will no longer be recognized as a Minor Political Party after December 31, 2022, as it failed to meet the 1% requirement for Minor Political Party Status in both 2022 and 2020.

Post-Election Performance Reviews

During the meeting, the canvassing board randomly selected four precincts from each of Minnesota’s eight congressional districts to conduct post-election performance reviews. During these reviews, the Office of the Secretary of State reviews the precinct’s materials including reviewing the forms provided at the precinct, the training provided to election judges, verifying the acceptance process of absentee ballots and more.

About the State Canvassing Board

The State Canvassing Board is called pursuant to Article VII, Section 8 of the Constitution of the State of Minnesota, which states, “The returns of every election for officeholders elected statewide shall be made to the secretary of state who shall call to his assistance two or more of the judges of the supreme court and two disinterested judges of the district courts. They shall constitute a board of canvassers to canvass the returns and declare the result within three days after the canvass.”

Secretary of State Simon extended his thanks to the Justices and Judges who agreed to serve on this canvassing board to certify the election results: G. Barry Anderson, Associate Justice, Minnesota Supreme Court; Paul C. Thissen, Associate Justice, Minnesota Supreme Court; David L. Knutson, Judge, First Judicial District Court; and Arlene Perkkio, Judge, First Judicial District Court.