Minnesota Secretary Of State - Secretary Simon Announces ‘Minnesota College Ballot Bowl’ Participants on National Voter Registration Day
Skip to main content

News Room Archive

News Room

Secretary Simon Announces ‘Minnesota College Ballot Bowl’ Participants on National Voter Registration Day

September 27, 2016

Sixty-eight colleges and universities are competing to register the most students

SAINT PAUL — Today, on National Voter Registration Day, Secretary of State Steve Simon announced the list of the colleges and universities participating in the first ever Minnesota College Ballot Bowl — a new voter registration competition where campuses across the state will compete against one another over the course of several weeks to register the most students.

There are 68 participating campuses from higher education institutions throughout the state, including two- and four-year public and private colleges and universities. This number includes all the two-year MnSCU colleges thanks to a partnership with MSCSA, the association that helps coordinate student government and voter outreach at those colleges. The competition officially began the first day of classes and will run through October 18, the pre-registration deadline. See the full list of participating campuses below.

“College students across the state are registering their friends and classmates on campus and proving that they are ready to help get Minnesota get back to number one in voter turnout,” said Secretary Simon. “On National Voter Registration Day, I encourage all Minnesotans to visit mnvotes.org and make sure you’re registered to vote, and encourage your friends and family to do the same.”

A variety of winners will be announced before Election Day (due to differences in campus sizes), including for both the largest number of students registered, and the highest percentage of the student body that was registered to vote.

National Voter Registration Day (NVRD) is a national non-partisan voter registration awareness campaign to encourage voter participation and increase awareness about how to register to vote. Secretary Simon serves on the NVRD Steering Committee for 2015-2016.

Minnesotans can register to vote from the comfort of their own home by going online to mnvotes.org. They can register at the polls on Election Day or when applying for or renewing their driver's license. Voter registration applications are also available at every state agency, all 87 county offices throughout the state, and online in English, Spanish, Hmong, Somali, Vietnamese, Karen, Russian, Chinese, Lao, Oromo, Khmer, and Amharic.

Yesterday, Secretary Simon announced that over the last week nearly 47,000 Minnesotans had taken advantage of the state’s online voter registration system — an all-time record since its launch in September 2013.


The full list of colleges and universities participating in the Minnesota College Ballot Bowl:

Alexandria Technical & Community College
Anoka Technical College
Anoka-Ramsey Community College Cambridge
Anoka-Ramsey Community College Coon Rapids
Bemidji State University
Bethel University
Central Lakes College Brainerd
Central Lakes College Staples
Century College
College of Saint Benedict/ Saint John's University
College of St. Scholastica
Concordia College, Moorhead
Dakota County Technical College
Fond du Lac Tribal & Community College
Gustavus Adolphus College
Hamline University
Hennepin Technical College Brooklyn Park
Hennepin Technical College Eden Prairie
Hibbing Community College
Inver Hills Community College
Itasca Community College
Lake Superior College
Mesabi Range College Eveleth
Mesabi Range College Virginia
Metropolitan State University
Minneapolis Community & Technical College
Minnesota State College-Southeast Technical Red Wing
Minnesota State College-Southeast Technical Winona
Minnesota State Community & Technical College Detroit Lakes
Minnesota State Community & Technical College Fergus
Minnesota State Community & Technical College Wadena
Minnesota State Community &Technical College Moorhead
Minnesota State University Moorhead
Minnesota State University, Mankato
Minnesota West Community & Technical College Canby
Minnesota West Community & Technical College Granite Falls
Minnesota West Community & Technical College Jackson
Minnesota West Community & Technical College Luverne (Site)
Minnesota West Community & Technical College Pipestone
Minnesota West Community & Technical College Worthington
Normandale Community College
North Hennepin Community College
Northland Community & Technical College East Grand
Northland Community & Technical College Thief River
Northwest Technical College (Bemidji)
Pine Technical College
Rainy River Community College
Ridgewater College Hutchinson
Ridgewater College Willmar
Riverland Community College Albert Lea
Riverland Community College Austin
Riverland Community College Owatonna
Rochester Community & Technical College
Saint Mary's University of Minnesota
Saint Paul College
South Central College Faribault
South Central College North Mankato
Southwest Minnesota State University
St. Cloud State University
St. Cloud Technical & Community College
St. Olaf College
University of Minnesota Twin Cities
University of Minnesota, Duluth
University of Minnesota, Morris
University of Minnesota, Rochester
University of St. Thomas
Vermilion Community College
Winona State University