Skip to page body Home About Community Living Doing Business Browse by Topic I Want to... Your Government

Minnesota Office of the Secretary of State

Newsletter Review
Office of the Minnesota Secretary of State Newsletter-January 2013
Posted Date: 1/9/2013

Office of the Minnesota Secretary of State


January 9, 2013
1.  Special Elections in House Districts 14A and 19A on February 12, 2013
2.  Electoral College Assembly Held December 17, 2012 in Capitol Rotunda 
3.  Voter Outreach, Engagement and Education

4.   2012 Business Filings Up 18%
5. Notary Commission Renewal

6. January Open Appointments

7. Flag Etiquette Brochures Available


1. Special Elections to be held for House Districts 14A and 19A on February 12, 2013
Minnesota Secretary of State Mark Ritchie has received writs from Governor Mark Dayton ordering special elections be held on Tuesday, February 12, 2013 for vacancies in office in House Districts 14A and 19A.

The special election in 14A is being held to fill the vacancy created when State Representative Steve Gottwalt resigned. The vacancy in office in 19A was created when Representative Terry Morrow resigned.

Should a special primary in either district becomes necessary it will be held Tuesday, January 29, 2013.
The candidate filing period for both of these House seats begins Wednesday, January 9, 2013, and ends Tuesday, January 15, 2013, at 5 p.m.  Candidates in House District 14A may file with either the Stearns County Auditor or the Office of the Minnesota Secretary of State in St. Paul.  Candidates for House District 19A may file with the Blue Earth, Le Sueur or Nicollet County Auditors or the Office of the Minnesota Secretary of State. The candidate withdrawal period ends at 5 p.m. on Wednesday, January 16, 2013.  

Candidate and special election information will be posted on the Office of the Minnesota Secretary of State website at:

2.         Electoral College Assembly Held December 17, 2012, in Capitol Rotunda
Secretary of State Mark Ritchie presided over Minnesota’s 39th Electoral College Assembly held in the State Capitol Rotunda at noon on December 17, 2012.  After Governor Mark Dayton completed his remarks, Minnesota’s ten Presidential Electors cast their ballots for President Barack Obama and Vice President Joe Biden before a crowd of over a hundred government officials, legislative leaders, students and members of the public.

Minnesota's 2012 electors are from the Democratic-Farmer-Labor Party and include:  Lucy Buckner, Burnsville; Jettie Ann Hill, Minneapolis; Dee Long, Minnetonka;  Joe Moren, Hibbing;  Al Patton, Sartell;  Shanti Shah, Eden Prairie;  Rick Stafford, Minneapolis; Russ Warren, Mounds View;  Janet Weir, Mankato; and Paul Wright, Hutchinson.  The alternate electors were Gabe Aderhold, Edina; Valerie Holthus, Andover; Liz Kalisch, White Bear Lake;  Fred Knudsen, Owatonna; Colleen Nardone, Grand Rapids; Lil Ortendahl, Osakis; Katherine Speer, Elgin; and Charlie Thomas, Lakeville.
Ma Lor, a senior at South High School in Minneapolis, led the assembly in the Pledge of Allegiance and First Sergeant Robyn Major sang the national anthem.  

On January 4, 2013, the United States Congress met in joint session to confirm the results of the 2012 United States Presidential Election. The product of the Minnesota Electoral College was accepted and has become part of American history in the National Archives. 

3.         Voter Outreach, Engagement and Education
To communicate directly with young voters and provide support for civics and social studies teachers, this Office offers voting workshops for high school students.  These interactive and engaging workshops introduce high school students to the basics of voting while also educating them about the importance of civic engagement. 

Voting workshops are also available for all age groups and community organizations serving new voters.  If you would like to schedule a workshop for your school or community organization, please visit and fill out a workshop request form or contact Claire Wilson, Voter Outreach Director, at, 651-201-1339.


4.        2012 Business Filings Up 18%
The Minnesota Office of the Secretary of State reported that 60,827 new businesses were filed in 2012. This is an 18% increase over the previous year and the second highest number of new filings in our state’s history.

5.      Notary Commission Renewals
Notaries whose commissions will expire in 2013 need to renew their commissions. This can easily be accomplished online at: The notary commission renewal period ends January 31, 2013.

Notaries public are appointed by the governor and confirmed by the state senate after filing with the Office of the Minnesota Secretary of State.  Notaries hold office for a five-year term.  Their commission expires on January 31 in the fifth year after the commission was issued.  Once a notary public is commissioned or renews their commission, they must also register their commission in the county where they reside. 
The cost of a commission or for renewing a commission is $120 payable to the state plus a $20 fee to register with the county.  Notaries who are unable to file online may submit renewal filings by mail to:  Minnesota Secretary of State, 60 Empire Drive, St. Paul, MN 55103-2141.  
If a notary public commission expires, a notary must seek reappointment by submitting a completed Notary Public Application.  Application forms are available online by visiting, or by contacting the office at 651-296-2803.


6.        January Open Appointments
January open appointment vacancies include:

- American Indian Advisory Council
- Minnesota Board of Psychology
- Chicano Latino Affairs Council
- Environmental Health Tracking and Biomonitoring Advisory Panel
- Department of Human Services Special Review Board
- Speech-Language Pathologist and Audiologist Licensing Advisory Council
- Department of Employment and Economic Development Urban Initiative Board

Open appointment information is available at:

Subscribe to the monthly open appointments vacancy email notification at:

If you have questions about open appointments, please contact this office at:


7.        Flag Etiquette Brochures Available
The Office of the Minnesota Secretary of State has “Guide to Flag Etiquette” brochures    available.  This brochure provides information on the proper handling and display of the flag.  Order a “Guide to Flag Etiquette” brochure by emailing this office at: or call 651-201-1324.

The brochure is also available online as a PDF document at:

A Public Service Announcement from Secretary Mark Ritchie about the importance of
Flag Etiquette is available at:
Follow the Office on Facebook and Twitter
Find us on facebooktwitter