Skip to page body Home About Community Living Doing Business Browse by Topic I Want to... Your Government

Minnesota Office of the Secretary of State

Law provides: Townships are governed by a board of supervisors elected by the people for three-year terms and administrative officers elected/appointed for two-year terms. The annual town meeting is held in each town on the second Tuesday of March. Optional forms of organization may be selected by the voters. (Minnesota Statutes, Chapters 365, 368)

Functions: Townships have authority for planning, subdivision control, zoning, maintenance of public works, parks, cemeteries, and hospitals, in addition to regular duties such as elections, tax levies, and public roads.
Additional information about Minnesota’s 1,790 townships is available from the Minnesota Association of Townships, 805 Central Ave. E., Box 267, St. Michael 55376, (763)497-2330; Toll-free: 1-800-228-0296; Web site:

Last updated: 6/1/2009 2:52:59 PM