Skip to page body Home About Community Living Doing Business Browse by Topic I Want to... Your Government

Minnesota Office of the Secretary of State

Law provides:  Minnesota‚Äôs two basic types of cities are home-rule charter cities, which operate under a local charter, and statutory cities, which operate under the statutory city code (Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 412). The distinction between home-rule cities and statutory cities is one of organization and powers and is not based on differences in population, size, location, or any other physical feature.

Form of government:  Home-rule charter cities may establish any form of government they choose in their charters. Typical forms include: council-manager, strong mayor, and mayor-council.  Statutory cities may choose a form of government from three alternatives: the mayor-council plan with either an elected clerk (standard plan), or an appointed clerk (plan A), or the council-manager plan (plan B).

Functions:  Police and fire protection, street maintenance, sewer and water, parks and recreation are traditional city services. Cities may choose to provide utilities, sell liquor, operate a hospital, maintain an airport, and provide ambulance service, among other options.

The following list of cities was provided courtesy of the League of Minnesota Cities, 145 University Ave. W., St. Paul 55103, (651)281-1200, The information was up to date as of January 2007.

Click here to view a list of cities in Minnesota.

Last updated: 6/1/2009 2:52:59 PM