Skip to page body Home About Community Living Doing Business Browse by Topic I Want to... Your Government

Minnesota Office of the Secretary of State

Minnesota Judicial Center, 25 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., St. Paul 55155
(651)297-1000; Web site:

Jurisdiction: The court of appeals has jurisdiction of appeals from all final decisions of district courts other than conciliation courts, except for appeals in certain election contests and convictions of murder in the first degree; and from administrative agencies, except appeals from the workers’ compensation court of appeals and the tax court. All of these exceptions go directly to the supreme court.

Judges: The court of appeals has 16 judges. Judges are elected by the voters to six-year terms; vacancies are filled by governor’s appointment. Judges are elected without party designation and candidates file for a specific seat. All judges of the court are subject to statewide election, but one seat on the court is designated for each congressional district. One year’s residence in the district is required for appointment or election to a congressional district seat. The governor designates one of the judges as chief judge, who, subject to the authority of the chief justice, has administrative authority for the court.

Salary: $136,168 chief judge; $129,656 judges

Chief Judge:

Edward Toussaint Jr. (1)*

Minneapolis.  Chicago State University (B.A., 1964); DePaul University School of Law (J.D., 1974); Chicago public school teacher (1964–75); claim counsel, American Family Insurance (1975–81); workers’ compensation judge (1981–87); judge, Workers’ Compensation Court of Appeals (1987–92); judge, Fourth Judicial District (1992–95); adjunct professor, evidence, William Mitchell College of Law; adjunct professor, evidence, University of St. Thomas College of Law; active in the Minnesota State Bar Association, executive committee; president, Council of Chief Judges of Courts of Appeal (1999), member of executive committee since 1996.  Appointed March 13, 1995; elected 1996, 2002; appointed chief judge 1995; reappointed 1998, 2001, 2004.


Harriet Lansing (10)

St. Paul.  Macalester College (B.A., 1967); University of Minnesota Law School (J.D., 1970); private practice (1973–76); St. Paul city attorney (1976–78); Ramsey County municipal judge (1978–83).  Appointed November 1, 1983; elected 1984, 1990, 1996, 2002.


R. A. (Jim) Randall (14)

Center City.  Gonzaga University (B.A., 1962); lieutenant, U.S. Marine Corps (1962); University of Minnesota (J.D., 1967); private practice, Hibbing (1967–84); assistant public defender (1967–84).  Appointed April 1, 1984; elected 1986, 1992, 1998, 2004.


Thomas J. Kalitowski (8)

Hastings.  University of Minnesota (B.A., 1970); University of Minnesota Law School (J.D., 1973); special assistant attorney general (1973–75); assistant commissioner of agriculture (1975–77); chair, state Water Planning Board (1977–83); chair, Environmental Quality Board; assistant director, State Planning Agency (1983–84); commissioner, Minnesota Pollution Control Agency (1984–87).  Appointed November 16, 1987; elected 1990, 1996, 2002.


Roger M. Klaphake (9)

St. Cloud.  St. Cloud State University (B.S., 1963); University of Minnesota Law School (J.D., 1966); Roger Nierengarten Law Office (1966–68); assistant Stearns County attorney (1966–72); Rinke, Klaphake & Noonan, Ltd. (1968–74); judicial officer (1974–75); county court, district court (1975–89).  Appointed August 8, 1989; elected 1990, 1996, 2002.


Randolph W. Peterson (13)

Wyoming.  University of Minnesota (B.A., 1976); University of Minnesota Law School (J.D., 1979); Minnesota State Senate (1981–90).  Appointed December 4, 1990; elected 1992, 1998, 2004.



Bruce D. Willis (5)

Plymouth.  Yale University (B.A., 1962); Harvard Law School (LL.B., 1965); Army Reserve (1965–68); Navy Reserve (1968–74); Popham, Haik, Schnobrich & Kaufman (1965–95); member, Minnesota Ethical Practices Board (1990–95; chair, 1992–93).  Appointed July 26, 1995; elected 1996, 2002.



Gordon W. Shumaker (12)

St. Paul.  St. Thomas University (B.A., 1964); St. Thomas University (M.A., 1965); William Mitchell College of Law (J.D., 1971); Meier, Kennedy & Quinn (1971–82); judge, Second Judicial District (1982–97); chief judge (1996–97).  Appointed January 6, 1998; elected 2000, 2006.


Jill Flaskamp Halbrooks (7)

Edina.  University of Colorado Boulder (B.A., 1971); University of California (Counseling Practicum, 1975–76); University of Colorado Boulder (M.A., 1976); William Mitchell College of Law (J.D., cum laude, 1985); Rider, Bennett, Egan & Arundel, associate attorney (1985–91), partner (1992–98).  Appointed November 2, 1998; elected 2000, 2006.


Terri J. Stoneburner (16)

Little Canada.  Hanover College (B.A., cum laude, 1967); United States Peace Corps (West Africa, 1968–70); University of Washington School of Law (J.D., 1975); United States VISTA volunteer, Alaska Human Rights Commission (1976–77); staff attorney, Alaska Human Rights Commission (1978–79); private practice, Mankato (1980–90); district court judge, Brown County (1990–2000).  Appointed April 28, 2000; elected 2002.


David Minge (3)

St. Paul.  St. Olaf College (B.A., 1964); University of Chicago Law School (J.D., 1967); associate, Faegre & Benson, Minneapolis (1967–70); professor, University of Wyoming College of Law (1970–77); Fulbright lecturer, University of Helsinki (1976); private practice, Montevideo (1977–92); assistant Chippewa County attorney (1977–92); United States representative (1993–2001); fellowship Kellogg Foundation (2001–02) and Woodrow Wilson Center (2002).  Appointed March 13, 2002; elected 2004.

Natalie E. Hudson (2)

Roseville.  Arizona State University Tempe; University of Minnesota Law School; staff attorney, Southern Minnesota Regional Legal Services, Inc. (1982–86); associate attorney, Robins, Kaplan, Miller and Ciresi (1986–88); assistant dean of student affairs, Hamline University School of Law (1989–92); St. Paul city attorney (1992–94); attorney, Minnesota attorney general’s office (1994–2002).  Appointed May 2, 2002; elected 2004.


Wilhelmina M. Wright (4)

St. Paul.  Yale University (B.A., with honors, 1986); Harvard Law School (J.D., 1989); clerk, United States Court of Appeals, Sixth Circuit, for Judge Damon J. Keith; private practice, Hogan & Hartson, LLP, Washington, D.C.; assistant United States attorney for the District of Minnesota; trial judge, Second Judicial District.  Appointed September 3, 2002; elected 2004.


Christopher J. Dietzen (11)

Bloomington. Gonzaga University (B.B.A., 1969); Gonzaga University School of Law (J.D., 1973); private practice, Richter, Wimberly & Ericson (1973–77); private practice, Larkin Hoffman Daly & Lindgren, Ltd. (1978–2004).  Appointed December 15, 2004; elected 2006.


Renee L. Worke (6)

Owatonna.  Minnesota State University Mankato (BS, magna cum laude, 1980); William Mitchell College of Law (J.D., 1983); partner, Rietz, Rietz, Rietz & Worke (1984–96); assistant public defender, Third Judicial District (1984–96); administrative law judge, child support division, Office of Administrative Hearings (1994–96); judge, Third Judicial District (1996–2005).  Appointed April 6, 2005; elected 2006.


Kevin G. Ross (15)

Minnetonka. University of Iowa (B.A.); University of Iowa (J.D., with high distinction and additional honors); police officer, Iowa City; clerk, United States District Court, District of Minnesota, for Chief Judge Paul A. Magnuson; clerk, United States Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit, for Judge Donald P. Lay; private practice, Greene Espel Law Firm (1997–2006).  Appointed February 23, 2006.

Last updated: 10/8/2010 4:15:51 PM