Skip to page body Home About Community Living Doing Business Browse by Topic I Want to... Your Government

Minnesota Office of the Secretary of State

Minnesota Judicial Center, 25 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., St. Paul 55155
Web site:

Jurisdiction: The Minnesota constitution provides that the supreme court shall have original jurisdiction in such remedial cases as are prescribed by law, and appellate jurisdiction in all cases, but there shall be no trial by jury in the supreme court.

Justices: The constitution provides for one chief justice and from six to eight associate justices. Justices are elected by the people of the state to six-year terms; vacancies are filled by governor’s appointment. Justices are elected without party designation. Candidates file for a specific judicial office, which is designated on the ballot by seat number and in parentheses after each name in this chapter.

Functions: The chief justice of the supreme court is the administrative head of the judicial branch and supervises the work of all courts. A state court administrator, supreme court administrator/clerk of the appellate courts, and state law librarian are appointed by the court. The court has power and duties to promote effective utilization of judicial officers and conduct continuing study of the court system.

Salary: $151,361 chief justice; $137,601 associate justices

Commissioner of Supreme Court: Richard S. Slowes
State Court Administrator: Sue K. Dosal
Supreme Court Administrator and Clerk of Appellate Courts: Frederick K. Grittner
Court Communications Director: John Kostouros
State Law Librarian: Barbara L. Golden

Chief Justice:

Russell A. Anderson

Eden Prairie.  St. Olaf College (B.A., 1964); University of Minnesota Law School (J.D., 1968); George Washington University (LL.M., 1977); Judge Advocate General’s Corps, U.S. Navy (1968–76); private practice (1976–82); Beltrami County attorney (1978–82); district court judge, Ninth Judicial District (1982–98); chief judge (1993–95).  Appointed associate justice September 1, 1998; elected 2000; appointed chief justice January 10, 2006. 


Associate Justices:

Alan C. Page (6)*

Minneapolis.  University of Notre Dame (B.A., 1967); University of Minnesota Law School (J.D., 1978); associate, Lindquist & Vennum (1979–84); special assistant attorney general (1985–87); assistant attorney general (1987–93); member, board of regents, University of Minnesota (1989–93); founder, Page Education Foundation (1988).  Elected 1992, 1998, 2004.


Paul H. Anderson (3)

Inver Grove Heights.  Macalester College (B.A., cum laude with departmental honors in political science, 1965); University of Minnesota Law School (J.D., 1968); VISTA volunteer attorney (1968–69); special assistant attorney general, criminal division and motor vehicle division, department of public safety (1970); associate (1971–75) and partner (1975–92) LeVander, Gillen & Miller; Independent School District No. 199, board member (1983–86) and chair (1984–86); member and chair, Minnesota Judicial Selection Commission (1991–92); chief judge, Minnesota Court of Appeals (1992–94).  Appointed July 1, 1994; elected 1996, 2002.

Helen M. Meyer (2)

Edina.  University of Minnesota (B.S., 1976); William Mitchell College of Law (J.D., 1983); co-founded Pritzker & Meyer P.A. (1987–96); founded Meyer & Associates P.A. (1996–2002); 20 years civil litigation practice; member, Minnesota Judicial Selection Commission (1998–2002).  Appointed June 6, 2002; elected 2004.


Sam Hanson (5)

Minneapolis.  St. Olaf College (B.A., 1961); William Mitchell College of Law (LL.B., 1965); clerk for Judges Douglas K. Amdahl and Robert J. Sheran (1964–66); private practice, Briggs and Morgan (1966–2000, president 1983–93); judge, Minnesota Court of Appeals (2000–02).  Appointed June 6, 2002; elected 2004.


G. Barry Anderson (1)

Apple Valley.  Gustavus Adolphus College (B.A., magna cum laude, 1976); University of Minnesota Law School (J.D., 1979); partner, Arnold, Anderson & Dove PLLP (1984–98); city attorney, Hutchinson (1987–98); member and chairman, Campaign Finance & Public Disclosure Board (1997–98); judge, Minnesota Court of Appeals (1998–2004).  Appointed October 13, 2004; elected 2006.


Lorie Skjerven Gildea (4)

Minneapolis.  University of Minnesota Morris (B.A., with distinction, 1983); Georgetown University Law Center (J.D., magna cum laude, order of the coif, 1986); litigation practice, Arent Fox, Washington, D.C. (1986–1993); associate general counsel, University of Minnesota (1993–2004); prosecutor, Hennepin County attorney’s office (2004–2005); judge, Fourth Judicial District (2005–06).  Appointed January 11, 2006.

Last updated: 6/1/2009 2:52:59 PM