Skip to page body Home About Community Living Doing Business Browse by Topic I Want to... Your Government

Minnesota Office of the Secretary of State

Law provides: The Minnesota Department of Transportation manages a statewide transportation system that includes aeronautics, highways, motor carriers, ports, public transit, and railroads. Mn/DOT is the principal agency for developing, implementing, administering, consolidating, and coordinating state transportation policies, plans, and programs. (Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 174)

Commissioner:  Lieutenant Governor Carol Molnau  
Appointed: 2003  
Salary: Not applicable – taking lieutenant governor salary

For biography, see page 269.

Transportation Bldg., 395 John Ireland Blvd., St. Paul 55155
General Information: (651)296-3000; Toll-free: (800)657-3994
Road Condition Information: dial 5-1-1, or go to
Web site: 

Deputy Commissioner/Chief engineer: Lisa Freese
Transportation Policy and Public Affairs: Robert McFarlin, assistant to the commissioner
Government Affairs: Elizabeth Parker, director
Communications: Lucy Kender, director

Function: Mn/DOT’s mission is to improve access to markets, jobs, goods, and services and improve mobility by focusing on priority transportation improvements and investments that help Minnesotans travel safer, smarter, and more efficiently.

Program Management Division provides leadership on statewide transportation investment and modal operations (including aeronautics, freight and commercial vehicle operations, and transit).
Director: Randy Halvorson
Engineering Services Division provides engineering guidance, standards, research, training, and other expertise to support Mn/DOT’s eight transportation districts in delivering projects and managing roads.
Director: Richard Stehr

Operations, Safety, and Technology Division provides leadership and expertise in Mn/DOT’s use of technology to promote and enhance transportation safety operations while ensuring efficiency.
Director: Richard Arnebeck

State Aid for Local Transportation (SALT) Division administers the distribution of state-aid and federal-aid funds to eligible counties, cities, and townships; authorizes grants for bridge construction on local road systems; provides technical assistance in the design, construction, and maintenance of the state-aid and federal-aid road systems. The district state aid engineers and their staff members represent SALT in the districts. The district offices are an integral part of the state aid project delivery system, as are a number of specialists who work for SALT on local projects, but who are located within other Mn/DOT divisions, including the offices of bridges, materials, construction, technical support, and finance.
Director: Julie Skallman

District Operations Division is divided into eight transportation districts statewide and is responsible for programming, planning, designing, constructing, and maintaining state highways. The division also plays a role in meeting the needs of other transportation modes (transit, rail rehabilitation, airports, and bikeways) in each district. Each district has a transportation district engineer who represents the commissioner of transportation to the public and other agencies. District engineers lead the development of the transportation system in their regions while coordinating those efforts with the other districts and Mn/DOT’s central office in St. Paul. The district offices are: District 1-Duluth; District 2-Bemidji; District 3-Brainerd; District 4-Detroit Lakes; Metro District-Roseville; District 6-Rochester; District 7-Mankato; and District 8-Willmar.
Director: Bob Winter

Last updated: 6/1/2009 2:52:59 PM