Skip to page body Home About Community Living Doing Business Browse by Topic I Want to... Your Government

Minnesota Office of the Secretary of State

2nd Floor, Administration Bldg., St. Paul 55155, (651)201-2555
Law provides: The council consists of the governor, lieutenant governor, secretary of state, state auditor, and attorney general. The council designates state depositories; approves mineral leases, extensions of timber permits, and sale and disposal of certain state lands; acts as a calamity board and may grant emergency relief. (Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 9)

Minnesota Department of Natural Resources, 500 Lafayette Rd., St. Paul 55155
Law provides: The governor, attorney general, and state auditor can unanimously approve the exchange of state public lands for publicly or privately owned lands. (Minnesota Constitution, Article XI section 10; Minnesota Statutes, Section 94.341–.349)

60 Empire Dr., Suite 355, St. Paul 55103
Law provides: The board, comprised of the governor, state auditor, secretary of state, and the attorney general, administers and directs the investment of all state funds. The board is responsible for the investment, purchase, and sale of securities for statewide pension funds, trust funds, and cash accounts. An advisory council advises the board and the executive director on general policy and investment management. Minnesota statutes prescribe the types of securities in which funds may be invested by the board and include provisions to insure the quality of investments. (Minnesota Constitution, Article XI; Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 11A)


State Constitutional Officers’ Inaugural Ceremony, January 2, 2007, Fitzgerald Theater, St. Paul (left to right): Secretary of State Mark Ritchie, Attorney General Lori Swanson, Governor Tim Pawlenty, Lieutenant Governor Carol Molnau, State Auditor Rebecca Otto.

Last updated: 6/1/2009 2:52:59 PM