Skip to page body Home About Community Living Doing Business Browse by Topic I Want to... Your Government

Minnesota Office of the Secretary of State

Constitution provides: To qualify as lieutenant governor a person must be 25 years old, a resident of the state one year, a citizen of the United States, and elected by the people jointly with the governor by a single vote applying to both offices (Article V).
Term: Four years      
Statutory Salary: $78,197

Carol Molnau

Lafayette.  University of Minnesota.  Chaska city council (1989–1992); state representative (1993–2002), assistant majority leader (1999–2002); chair, task force on agriculture, Center of the American Experiment, Minnesota Policy Blueprint (1997–1998); lieutenant governor (2003–present); commissioner, Minnesota Department of Transportation (2003–present); CEO member, American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials; executive member, Center for Transportation Studies, University of Minnesota; member, Midwest Interstate Passenger Rail Commission.

130 State Capitol, 75 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
St. Paul 55155

Elected: 2002, 2006   
Term expires: January 2011


The lieutenant governor serves as an extension of the governor and assists the governor in carrying out the functions of the executive branch. She represents the governor and is prepared to act in the governor’s place in the event of his absence or disability. The governor may delegate to the lieutenant governor any powers, duties, responsibilities, or functions as prescribed by law to be performed by the governor by filing a written order with the secretary of state. Governor Pawlenty appointed Lieutenant Governor Molnau to perform the duties of commissioner of transportation as well as lieutenant governor (see chapter 4).

The lieutenant governor is a key member of the governor’s cabinet and is involved in major policy and budget decisions.

As part of her official duties as lieutenant governor, the lieutenant governor serves as a member of the State Executive Council and chairs the Capitol Area Architectural Planning Board.

Last updated: 6/1/2009 2:52:59 PM