Skip to page body Home About Community Living Doing Business Browse by Topic I Want to... Your Government

Minnesota Office of the Secretary of State

Eligibility & Instructions

Voter Eligibility
To register, you must be:

  • A U.S. citizen
  • At least 18 years old on Election Day
  • A resident of Minnesota for 20 days
  • Finished with all parts of any felony sentence
  • You can vote while under guardianship unless a judge specifically has revoked your right to vote.
  • You cannot vote if a court has ruled that you are legally incompetent.

See if you are registered to vote in Minnesota

When to Re-Register
You must re-register each time you change address, change names or do not vote for four years in a row. Update your registration by completing a new registration application.

Registration Dates
You are encouraged to register before Election Day. To pre-register, election officials must receive your application at least three weeks before Election Day.

You can register at your polling place on Election Day if you miss the pre-registration date.

Ways to Register to Vote

You can also register to vote by checking a box on your driver’s license application or renewal form.

If you move to a new Minnesota residence, you can submit a United States Postal Service (USPS) change-of-address form. USPS will notify election officials of the change. If election officials can match the record in their system, they will update your address and mail a green confirmation postcard to you.

Read the Voter Registration Confidentiality Notice

Last updated: 4/4/2014 11:47:27 AM