Skip to page body Home About Community Living Doing Business Browse by Topic I Want to... Your Government

Minnesota Office of the Secretary of State

State Senate District 20 Special Election

Special Election Results

Special Primary Results 

Special Election Scheduled. The governor has issued a Writ of Special Election to fill a vacancy in Senate District 20.  The vacancy was caused by the passing of Senator Gary Kubly.  Senate District 20 includes all of Big Stone, Chippewa, Lac qui Parle, Lincoln, Renville, Swift, and Yellow Medicine counties in western Minnesota.

News Release 

Writ of Special Election for District 20
Senate District 20 Map

Important Dates

Candidate Filing Period: March 8, 2012 to March 13, 2012 (until 5:00 p.m.)
    Petition for minor party and independent candidates:
    -Sample Combined Nominating and Filing Fee Petition (print on 8.5" x 14" paper)
    Optional petition for major party candidates:
    -Sample Petition in Place of Filing Fee (print on 8.5" x 14" paper) 
Withdrawal Period ends March 14, 2012 at 5 p.m.
    -Affidavit of Withdrawal
Write-in Candidate Request

Special Primary:  March 27, 2012
Special Election:  April 10, 2012

Candidates Filed as of 5:00 p.m. March 14, 2012 (end of withdrawal period)

Date & Location Filed Name Party
3/8/2012, Big Stone County John Schultz DFL
3/9/2012, Chippewa County Lyle Koenen DFL
3/13/2012, Renville County Leon Greenslit Independence
3/13/2012, Renville County Gregg Kulberg Republican

Last updated: 4/30/2013 4:32:11 PM