Skip to page body Home About Community Living Doing Business Browse by Topic I Want to... Your Government

Minnesota Office of the Secretary of State

State Senate Districts 46 and 61 Special Elections

Special Election Results

Special Primary Results

Special Elections Scheduled. The governor has issued two Writs of Special Election to fill vacancies in Senate Districts 46 and 61.  The vacancy in Senate District 46 was caused by the passing of Senator Linda Scheid.  The vacancy in Senate District 61 was caused by the resignation of Senator Linda Berglin. 

News Release

Writ of Special Election for District 46    Senate District 46 Map
Writ of Special Election for District 61    Senate District 61 Map

Important Dates

Candidate Filing Period: July 27, 2011 to August 3, 2011 (until 5:00 pm)
    Petitions for minor party and independent candidates:
    •Sample Combined Nominating and Filing Fee Petition   District 46  District 61
    •Sample Petition in Place of Filing Fee  District 46 District 61
    See the Petitions page for more information about petition form and signatures
Candidate Withdrawal Period ends: August 4, 2011 (at 5:00 pm)

Special Primary:  September 13, 2011
Special Election:  October 18, 2011
    Request for Write-in Votes to be Counted:
    •Write-In Request for Special Election - District 46
    •Write-In Request for Special Election - District 61

Candidates Filed as of 5:00 p.m. August 4, 2011 (end of withdrawal period)

Senate District 46

Date Filed Name Party
7/27/2011 (withdrawn 8/4) Richard Taylor Republican
7/27/2011 Chris Eaton DFL
7/29/2011 Tom Reynolds Independence
8/1/2011 Timothy A. Davis Sr. DFL
8/1/2011 (withdrawn 8/3) Robert Marvin Republican
8/3/2011 Ryan Sibinski Republican
8/3/2011 Cory Jensen Republican

Senate District 61

Date Filed Name Party
7/27/2011 Jeff Hayden DFL
7/29/2011 Sadik Warfa DFL
8/1/2011 Kristian Heuer DFL
8/2/2011 Elsa Batica DFL
8/3/2011 Bruce A. Lundeen Republican
8/3/2011 Paulette Will DFL
8/3/2011 Kyle Wilson DFL
8/3/2011 Farheen Hakeem Green
8/3/2011 Matt Brillhart Independence

Last updated: 4/30/2013 4:04:06 PM