Skip to page body Home About Community Living Doing Business Browse by Topic I Want to... Your Government

Minnesota Office of the Secretary of State

State Senate District 66 Special Election

Senate District 66 Special Election Results

Senate District 66 Special Primary Results

Special Election Scheduled. The governor has issued a Writ of Special Election to fill a vacancy in Senate District 66.  Senator Ellen Anderson has been appointed as Chair of the Public Utilities Commission (PUC) and is resigning effective March 20, 2011 (press release).  Senate District 66 includes Falcon Heights and northern and western portions of St. Paul.

News Release

Writ of Special Election for District 66
Senate District 66 Map

Important Dates

Candidate Filing Period: March 11, 2011 to March 15, 2011 (until 5:00 pm)
    Petitions for minor party and independent candidates:
    -Sample Combined Nominating and Filing Fee Petition (print on 8.5" x 14" paper)
    -Sample Petition in Place of Filing Fee (print on 8.5" x 14" paper)
Special Primary:  March 29, 2011
Special Election:  April 12, 2011

Candidates Filed as of 5:00 p.m. March 15, 2011 (end of filing)

Date Filed Name Party
3/11/2011 John Lesch DFL
3/11/2011 Greg Copeland Republican
3/14/2011 Mary Jo McGuire DFL
3/14/2011 (withdrawn 3/16) Teresa Patton DFL
3/14/2011 (withdrawn 3/16) Patricia Ann O'Keefe Republican
3/15/2011 Steven Marchese DFL
3/15/2011 (withdrawn 3/16) JT Haines DFL

Last updated: 4/30/2013 4:24:19 PM