Skip to page body Home About Community Living Doing Business Browse by Topic I Want to... Your Government

Minnesota Office of the Secretary of State

2010 Gubernatorial Recount Challenged Ballots

Challenged Ballots (not deemed frivolous)
Ballots challenged by the gubernatorial candidate representatives are copied and forwarded to the Office of the Minnesota Secretary of State. The copies of the ballots are scanned and uploaded to this website. Images are added each business day at 4:00 p.m. Click on each county to access images of that county’s challenged ballots.

Please note: No ballots were challenged in the following counties: Big Stone, Clearwater, Cook, Freeborn, Hubbard, Kittson, Koochiching, Lac Qui Parle, Lake of the Woods, Mahnomen, Martin, Meeker, Pennington, Pine, Pope, Red Lake, Redwood, Sibley, Stevens, Swift, Wilkin, Yellow Medicine.

View Challenged Ballot Images and either see specific county PDFs, or access the complete set as a single zip file located at the bottom of the directory.

List of Challenges Withdrawn by Dayon PDF

Hamilton Letter 12/07/2010 PDF

List of Challenges Withdrawn by Emmer PDF

Magnuson Letter 12/07/2010 PDF

Attempted Challenged Ballots Deemed Frivolous
After the campaign's withdrawals on Dec.7, less than 30 attempted challenged ballots deemed frivolous remain. The State Canvassing Board must still decide if and when any attempted challenges that were deemed frivolous and not withdrawn will be considered for review.

While most of these attempted challenges have now been withdrawn, to the extent that copies of the ballots were made before the originals were re-stored securely in sealed envelopes, they are public data.

View challenged ballots deemed frivolous as either specific county PDFs, or as a complete set as a single zip file located at the bottom of the directory. Images are added each business day at 4:00 p.m., if additional copies or scans of ballots are received. Please note that Dayton withdrew all of his campaign’s ballot challenges that were deemed frivolous prior to the county officials making copies.

Thirty-five counties had ballots with attempted challenges by Emmer deemed frivolous by deputy recount officials. The following counties had one or more ballots with attempted challenges deemed frivolous: Aitkin, Anoka, Blue Earth, Brown, Carver, Chippewa, Chisago, Crow Wing, Dakota, Dodge, Fillmore, Goodhue, Hennepin, Isanti, Itasca, Jackson, Kanabec, Kandiyohi, Martin, Meeker, Mower, Norman, Olmsted, Pine, Renville, Rice, Rock, Roseau, Saint Louis, Scott, Sherburne, Stearns, Wabasha, Washington, Wright.

Last updated: 12/10/2010 2:10:53 PM