Skip to main content

Steve's Blog

Secretary Simon honors five Minnesotans who helped make Voting Rights Act a reality

July 30, 2015

Secretary Simon today honored five Minnesotans who helped make the Voting Rights Act of 1965 a reality, including civil rights pioneer Dr. Josie Johnson and the four living members of the 1965 Minnesota congressional delegation – Vice President Walter Mondale, Governor Al Quie, U.S. Representative and Minneapolis Mayor Don Fraser, and U.S. Representative Alec Olson.

Over 300 elected officials, community leaders, and members of the public watched at the Landmark Center as each honoree received a special award from the Minnesota Office of Secretary of State, in conjunction with the National Association of Secretaries of State (NASS). The inscription on the award thanks the honorees for their “courage and leadership in securing the right to vote for all Americans.” NASS allows each Secretary of State to confer up to five such awards each year.

Minnesota was one of the proud states where all voting members voted in favor of the Voting Rights Act.

  Return to List